February 28, 2024

Annual Day Celebration of Film Studios Setting & Allied Mazdoor Union held on January 26 with pomp and vigour

Mumbai: Republic Day also known as National Day is a day to commemorate the day when a country became a republic. It honors the date on which the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950 replacing the Government of India Act (1935) as the governing document of India. Likewise, the biggest film labour union in Mumbai – Film Studios Setting & Allied Mazdoor Union (FSSAMU) celebrated their 34th anniversary of their annual day celebration on Republic Day, 26th January 2018 at Chitrakoot Ground, Andheri (West), Mumbai-53 with great fanfare under the supervision of their dashing and dynamic Chairman of the union, MLA Ram Kadam and General Secretary Gangeshwarlal Shrivastav a.k.a Sanju with their respective members.

Like every year this year too, the 34th annual day celebration had an enormous gathering of its members with family and friends at the well-decorated and illuminated Chitrakoot Ground. The ritual ceremony began with a free medical camp exclusively for its members. It was followed by a musical orchestra to entertain the invitees and all those present at the venue.Magnifying the celebration, the evening began with the lighting of the traditional lamp by the honourable guests present on the occasion and thereafter singing of the National Anthem by all those present at the venue.

The honourable dignitaries present on the dais were B.N. Tiwari- President of the Western India Cine Employees and its General Secretary Ashok Dubey, Vasant Dubey Founder of FSSAMU with Dr. Kirit Somaiya – renowned BJP politician from Mumbai North-East, Saini Ji – Cabinet Minister of State, Yogesh Dubey – President of North Indian Federation, Dhananjay Singh – Former MP of U.P. and a galaxy of seasoned actors of the silver and television screens like Gajendra Chauhan, Rajpal Yadav, Upasana Singh, Tina Ghai, Sahila Chadda including filmmakers Dheeraj Kumar and Ashok Pandit and many others made their presence felt at the gala event.Gangeshwarlal Shrivastav .k.a Sanju, the General Secretary of the Film Studios & Mazdoor Allied Union welcomed each of the honourable guests and in their honor presented them with bouquets, shawl and trophies to all.

Speaking on the occasion, the union’s General Secretary Gangeshwarlal Shrivastav a.k.a Sanju said, “This union functions just like any family. If there is any trouble with any members of the family, then we will not tolerate it. We will work together in association with all the federations. Now we are focusing on the benefits of our workers like – protection on the sets, proper arrangement of food for them by the producers and that their wages should be paid on time.” He further added, “If any worker faces any sorts of problem on the sets, he can call the union directly and we will reach out to him for his rescue. Overall the filmmakers are fair enough but it has been noticed that the television and web series makers are not paying their workers properly and that too on time and keeps on lingering for month’s altogether. This has to be sorted out or else we will not allow them to shoot in any circumstances.”


While the dashing Union’s Chairman MLA Ram Kadam declared, “If any producer exploits any of our workers, we will not spare them at any cost. If any producer has any problem regarding shooting not only in Mumbai but anywhere in Maharashtra, then he is welcome to our office where we will sort out his issues. But at any cost we will not tolerate if our workers are facing any hardship from them and he will be taken to task.”

On the occasion, the Film Studios Setting & Allied Union’s Senior Vice Chairman Sharafuddin Mohammed, Vice Chairman Jagdish Patel, Joint Secretaries Rajmangal Yadav and Rakesh Maurya, Treasures Bhagwati Prasad Shukla, Advisor Dinesh Chaturvedi (Daddu), Rajesh Ambhavane and other office bearers and members also honoured other special guests who added glitter to the event by their presence.

Other politicians and bureaucrats like Sachin Desai – Corporator from Nalasopara, Vishal Pandey – Yuva Samaj Sevak,, Pappu Lekh Raj, Rashid Mehta, Sharad Shelar, Prakash Upadhyay, Zahid Sheikh, Sangam Ji, Raja Khan, Zhuleka, Hema, Shahrukh Khan, Bablu Bhai, Ramesh Mishra, Sanjay Singh, Sawant ji – Nagpur Welfare Commissioner, Sagar ji – All India Welfare Chairman, Surendra Mishra – President of Raghavendra Seva Forum, Radheshyam Dwivedi, Kamlesh Yadav – Corporator, Chandra Malkar, Rakesh Singh – Founder of Rana Pratap School, Pradeep Singh – President of Shakti Janhit Manch (Palghar), Ramjatan Gupta – National Executive President of Shakti Janhit Manch (Palghar), Raj Sharma, Shivkumar Tiwari and other biggies took their valuable time to attend the function and added grandeur on the occasion too.

—Sanjay Sharma Raj(P.R.O.)